CMPU 375: Networks, Fall 2005

Time MW 10:30-11:45 AM
Place OLB 105
Instructor David Hovemeyer

Throughout the semester this web page will be updated with important course information.  Please check it regularly.

The final examination will be on Friday, Dec 16th from 9-11 AM in Rockefeller 312.  The exam is closed book, but you may bring 3 sheets of notes (8.5 x 11 inches).

Contents

News

Resources

Lectures

Date Topic, Lecture Notes Homework Reading (for next lecture)
Mon, 5 Sep 2005 Syllabus, Notes Homework 1, due Sept. 12th Kurose & Ross, chapter 1, sec 1.1--1.7
Wed, 7 Sep 2005 Kinds of delays, intro to network applications, sockets, intro to network programming in Java: Notes, clientserver.zip n/a Kurose & Ross, chapter 2, 2.1-2.2, 2.7-2.9
It's the Latency, Stupid
Mon, 12 Sep 2005 HTTP, pipelining and latency. Overview of Java generics, enums, threads. Demo of project 1. Notes, queue.zip (thread-safe queue example) none (but Project 1 will be assigned soon) Kurose & Ross, chapter 2, 2.5-2.6
Wed, 14 Sep 2005 DNS, P2P systems. Overview of Project 1. Notes Project 1 assigned, due Sept 21st BitTorrent paper
Optional: Java threads tutorial
Mon, 19 Sep 2005 BitTorrent, Transport layer intro. Notes none Kurose & Ross, Chapter 3, 3.1-3.3
Wed, 21 Sep 2005 UDP socket programming, transport layer architecture, intro to reliable data transfer. Notes Homework 2, due beginning of class on Sept. 28th Kurose & Ross, Chapter 3, Sect. 3.4
Mon, 26 Sep 2005 Link utilization. Pipelining in reliable transport protocols. Notes, Raising the Internet MTU none Kurose & Ross, Chapter 5, Sect. 3.5
Wed, 28 Sep 2005 TCP. Notes none (project 2 coming soon) Jacobson and Karels, Congestion Avoidance and Control
Mon, 3 Oct 2005 Congestion control in TCP. Notes Project 2, due October 26th by 11:59 PM none
Wed, 5 Oct 2005 TCP congestion control, continued. Project 2 Kurose & Ross, Chapter 3, Sect. 3.6-3.7
Mon, 10 Oct 2005 Properties of Internet checksums. TCP socket implementation. Notes
Wed, 12 Oct 2005 In-class midterm. Closed book, but 2 sheets of notes are allowed.
Oct 14th - 22nd October break, no class
Mon, 24 Oct 2005 Zerocopy TCP. Network layer intro. Router architecture. Notes Project 2 due on Wednesday by 11:59 PM Kurose & Ross, Chapter 4, 4.1-4.4
Wed, 26 Oct 2005 IP datagram format and addressing. CIDR. ARP and DHCP. Notes Project 2 due today. Homework 3 due Nov 2nd at beginning of class. Kurose & Ross, Chapter 4, through Section 4.5
Mon, 31 Oct 2005 NAT and IPv6. Routing intro. Notes none Finish Sections 4.1-4.5
Wed, 2 Nov 2005 Link-state and distance-vector routing algorithms. Notes Homework 4, due Nov 9th at beginning of class. Kurose & Ross, Sections 4.6-4.7
Mon, 7 Nov 2005 Internet routing, Intra-AS routing. Notes none Kurose & Ross 4.8
Wed, 9 Nov 2005 Inter-AS routing. Broadcast routing. Notes HW 4 due. No new assignment. Kurose & Ross 5.1-5.3
Mon, 14 Nov 2005 Multicast routing. Notes none Kurose & Ross 5.1-5.3
Wed, 16 Nov 2005 Link layer intro. Error detection and correction. Broadcast media and multiple access. Notes Project 3 due Wednesday, Nov 30th by 11:59 PM Kurose & Ross, Ch. 5, 5.4-5.6
Mon, 21 Nov 2005 Performance of ALOHA. CSMA/CD and Ethernet. Ethernet hubs and switches. Notes Homework 5, due Wednesday Nov 30th at beginning of class (10:30 AM) Kurose & Ross, Ch. 5, 5.7-5.8
Wed, 23 Nov 2005 PPP and ATM. Notes none Kurose & Ross, Ch. 6, 6.1-6.4
Mon, 28 Nov 2005 Wireless networks. Notes none Kurose & Ross, Ch. 6, 6.5-6.6
Wed, 30 Nov 2005 Wireless networks, cont'd. IP mobility. Notes Homework 6, due Wed, Dec. 7th at beginning of class (10:30 AM) Kurose & Ross, Ch. 8, 8.1-8.5
Mon, 5 Dec 2005 Network Security. none Kurose & Ross, Ch. 7, 7.6-7.9
Wed, 7 Dec 2005 Quality of Service. IntServ and DiffServ. none none
Fri, 16 Dec 2005 Final Exam in Rockefeller 312 from 9-11 AM

Projects

Project Files Assigned Due
Project 1: Instant Messaging Client project1.zip Wed, Sep 14th Wed, Sep 21st at 11:59 PM
Project 2: Transport protocol simulation netsim.zip Tues, Oct 4th Wed, Oct 26th at 11:59 PM
Extended to Fri, Nov 5th at 11:59 PM
Project 3: Error correction with Hamming Codes hammingcode.zip Wed, Nov 16th Wed, Nov 30th by 11:59 PM